Skip to content

more from 40 Days for Life

March 12, 2015

I’ve been trying to attend as many of the 40 Days for Life vigils as I can. This morning I attended on at the El Cajon clinic, and as is the custom, someone was handing out miscellaneous flyers to those who drove into the lot. I had a chance to look through a few of them. One of them was “What a Woman Should Know about Birth Control”. In addition to claiming hormonal contraceptives cause abortion, which I’ve discussed elsewhere, the brochure also cited a study alleging that spermicides can cause birth defects. This was a 1981 study which I remember very well, and I remember how a few years later that study was shown to be flawed.  As was the case with hormonal contraception, this had affected my relationship with women, including pro-life women, so much that I eventually came to wonder if it was wise to have even gotten involved in pro-life.  When I learned the study was flawed, I tried to get back into pro-life, but learned someone who had treated me badly a few years earlier was also getting back.  It was the last straw at that time.  I withdrew from pro-life for a couple years after that, and when I returned I discovered there were some changes in pro-life.

“Love can be seen as the answer, but nobody bleeds for the dancer”–Ronnie James Dio (July 10, 1942 – May 16, 2010)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

